baby food.

My life is controlled by baby food.

I’ll get to that in a bit, but first let’s talk about something more important: my dad and my youngest sister are coming to Montreal tomorrow. This is my first real visit by family since I moved here in August. I haven’t seen either of them in months. Traditionally I would see them quite frequently…When I lived in Vancouver I’d go over once every 2 months at least.

It’s important because my sister has never been here before, and she is 18. Montreal is a little different than Victoria 🙂

I feel like I need to write about so many different things at once and it is difficult to channel my thoughts into a coherent structure.

On January 18, 2010, I wrote this in my notebook:

“I’ve decided to abandon purees in my own cooking. I feel that firstly they have become cliche, and secondly it’s become a crutch. Food is not fine dining if it has some shitty puree on it.”

The really ironic thing is that my life and cooking revolve around purees. My chef loves purees. I might be changing my viewpoint at little bit. I guess the first problem with my little rant is that I really have no idea what “fine dining” is supposed to be, and even if I did, the whole concept is changing now anyway. If you look at Noma, the world’s “#1 restaurant” (San Pelligrino Top 100) in Copenhagen, their food is very refined, natural, and reflects their country’s cuisine. But the room has no white tablecloths and is warm, woodsy and clean. Another restaurant, Le Chateaubriand in Paris, has also eschewed the trappings of fine dining for a relaxed atmosphere, and even does it at a reasonable price.

Awarded #11 in the Top #100.

“Its classy, wonderfully inventive food would grace the tables of the swankiest venues the world over but is served instead in a simple bistro setting, complete with zinc bar, chalk boards and hard wooden chairs. Chef-patron Iñaki Aizpitarte always maintained he wanted to create a restaurant where his friends could afford to eat.”

And that, my friends, is something I can get behind. I always wanted to work someplace where I would feel comfortable inviting my friends and family to visit. No pretension, no swank, just comfortable space and mind-blowing food.

Listening: Jaylib – Champion Sound

~ by getbackwards on February 1, 2011.

One Response to “baby food.”

  1. Wait til read about Ferran and all his purees! Also his lack of pretentiousness at el Bulli. Both sides of things.

Leave a Reply

 
