5000KM vip.

So hey! Surprise! I’m in victoria! I wanted to post about this about 4 weeks ago but I couldn’t – it was a surprise for my mom’s birthday. It is weird being back in Victoria. It feels like soooo long since I was last here, but in actuality it has only been about 4 months. So much has changed, but it’s pretty much still the same. I got up at 5:15am yesterday morning, took a cab to the airport, and I was back in my hometown by 11:30am local time.

I’ve been explaining to my friends here what the story on Montreal is, but if you don’t know – beer, restaurants, beer, girls, french. pretty much it. so much fun. I definitely had a hard time when I first got there but now I’m finding a groove. I still don’t have a place to live. It’s pretty frustrating.

I am hoping to visit all the old restaurants I like in Victoria while I’m here – Pig, Hernandez, the Marina, and maybe some new ones – Ulla in particular looks interesting. We shall see if my money holds out though.

I’m now the proud owner of kinda 2 jobs in Montreal. I’m going to try and work my face off so I don’t go broke. This is pretty much my last vacation for the year… 2 months vacation total has been enough i think. All this time off has been valuable though. I am constantly re-evaluating my priorities. This is a good thing, I think.

It is basically an entirely new experience for me. Something I keep stressing to everyone I know that is still living in their home town is that you NEED to get out of your comfort zone.

Comfort is alluring. It’s easy. It’s the path of least resistance. Moving away from your established social structure (probably one of the most important things in most people’s lives) is one of the hardest things you can do. But it’s funny, because even though I moved to Montreal knowing almost no one, I still manage to meet people either that know me, or I know people they know, or basically that they are from Victoria. It is pretty silly.

Another thing that is pretty amazing is how I have managed to make connections. For example: When I first moved there, I stayed with my mom’s friend’s daughter’s friend. Then, the guy I’m staying with now I met through my friend Aled, whose friend’s friend from Victoria was friends with this one guy who mentioned he needed a roommate for October. That is why it is very important to meet people. Victorians don’t understand that, because they already know everyone who lives here. But “networking”, I guess, is vital to your success. I don’t even really try to do it, I just go out for beers and people invite their friends and that’s pretty much it. But if you have it in your mind to make acquaintances, friends, employers or roommates, they surely will come.

~ by getbackwards on October 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
