all out fall out.

After 4 days in Montreal, I can feel the “new-city-mood” setting in. The first day or two was an overwhelming euphoria, but I knew in the back of my mind that no matter how awesome I thought it was, reality was going to have to kick in at some point.  I thought my life was going to be saved by the fact that I had a trial shift at a restaurant downtown. The website looked good. The menu looked interesting, if a little on the unnecessarily fusion side. I told myself during the last week of the trip that everything would be okay, I had some promise in the form of possible job when I got there….

So I go there, everything is looking promising, the chef is a super nice guy and we have some good chats about food. But I get worried when he starts talking about how everyone is pretty laid-back, and I can kinda tell. Service (if you can call it that) starts and ends with one table of 8. Now maybe I’m just thinking about the “perfect fish” after all the yelling I got at Pourhouse about it,  but the meat cook burns the fuck out of the skin, cause he has the burner on full the entire time. The salmon then sits under the heat lamp for 5 minutes while the rest of the food gets plated. And the chef says nothing, not even after the pork belly for scallop dish gets forgotten, and barely seared before plating.

I felt bad for the guy, because I could tell he was a good cook, and he had some really interesting thoughts on flavors and the way we approach vegetable cookery. But I couldn’t work for him.

What you don't want under your fish skin 😦

So, I had to call the guy today and politely decline the job. Maybe I don’t have the balls some people do, or maybe I’m just too nice, but I couldn’t start working for the guy and quit two weeks later if I find something I actually want to do. Not to mention the fact that I would probably be extremely unhappy about the whole situation.

I spent most of today feeling sorry for myself after last night’s search on Craigslist and Kijiji yielded terrible and meager results. My empty wallet, no friends here, and general anxiety is probably contributing to this… Tomorrow is a new day I guess, and now that I have a vision in my head of what I don’t want, I figured out for the most part what i do. And that is probably half the battle. The other half will likely be just finding the damn place, haha.

Tomorrow, always tomorrow.

Listening:
Pest – Necessary Measures

~ by getbackwards on August 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
