Just a couple cool guys hanging out.

I feel like I’ve had a pretty busy week.

I went to Victoria again. I don’t know why. But I had fun anyway. The ferry almost tipped over. They had barf bags out, it was pretty funny. I took my roommate Bryce over with me, since he had never been to Victoria before. We went to my friend Will’s place and my other friend Matt came over. We were going to go out to the bar but the wind was making the rain go sideways, so we lost enthusiasm for that idea pretty quickly. We ended up just being silly and playing video games. The next day Bryce was not feeling too well and I sent him on his way back to Vancouver, meanwhile I went back into town and met my mom, her boyfriend and my sister Kaiza for dinner at Tapa Bar. I’ve always liked that place, good atmosphere and energy, and the food is enthusiastic if a little played out.

Silly.

I went over to Bon Rouge after and met my dad and my friend Sam for beers. I had an entertaining discussion with the owner Mike Murphy about the place of fine dining restaurants versus volume-oriented places like Bon Rouge. He said that people should focus on getting things perfect before making new shit up. He used DB Bistro NYC as a reference. I think it’s awesome when I meet people like this because I find that restaurant owners tend to either be totally on board with creativity and exploration or they think that the chef is an egomaniac and has no idea about money. I’m personally on the fence, I think both are good. The first is great for the food world. If there were no chefs taking chances at the top of the game, I have a feeling that the little guys would be hard pressed to move forward and keep things fresh. The second is great too, I’ve worked for a few owners that feel like this – very money oriented, but shrewd and aware of what the customer wants. These guys are good too, they generally don’t take too many chances on the food front but their restaurants are busy and their customers love it.

I’m not sure how I feel about either side really. I like the idea of being able to create a unique style. It’s one of the reasons why I love cooking. But restaurants are ultimately a business, so it’s necessary to reduce the food down to dollars and cents.

Speaking of restaurants that are business oriented but are still serving great food, I ate at DB Bistro Moderne on broadway last night. Let’s just say it was epic. 6 courses, the best pates with foie, suckling pig served 3 ways with the hugest platter of choucroute ever. and the most hilarious cake ever, Sweet Juanita.

I actually ate this.

It’s good to know that once and a while people do appreciate what you do.

In closing, I did something that I’ve wanted to do for about 5 years. My mom and dad weren’t too impressed, but they’ll like it one day I know. My sisters think it’s rad.

Island boy at heart.

Listening:
Supertramp – Crime of the Century

~ by getbackwards on April 7, 2010.

One Response to “Just a couple cool guys hanging out.”

  1. Rad Rad so there!

Leave a Reply

 
