A much better tomorrow.

Monster.

Okay, so I got sick for a little while there. It’s a good time to review your diet and lifestyle choices. Every few months this happens to me. I either drink too much or I get sick and I think to myself, “Teg, now is the time to get healthy.” A week or two passes of me eating well and cutting back on the beer, and then it’s back to old habits again.

Now, I don’t want to blame the profession I’m in, but it’s a pretty large factor. Anyone who is on a “cleanse”, eats vegan, or otherwise has special dietary requirements is most likely not in a kitchen. The mostly long hours aside, the energy you expend during a busy dinner service is not going to be recouped with a green salad with lemon vinaigrette. I mostly crave carbohydrates, and protein. Pasta is a quick, easy meal, I can shovel it down if I’m busy and it is generally cheap for the restaurant to provide.

I was going to talk about how hard it is to keep yourself fed during your shift, but I won’t. Other people have talked about this a lot better than I can. Basically I need to set realistic goals for myself in all aspects of my life. I think a common problem most people have is not setting realistic goals, or achievable ones, for the short term. You can’t expect to achieve exactly what you want right away, otherwise you will fail and your confidence will falter.

I think eating properly is a reasonable goal.

On a slightly different note, I went to Victoria over the weekend for my grandmother’s birthday. We had a great birthday lunch at Zambri’s, so many antipasto platters. I managed to fit almost everyone into my schedule, which was nice. I like going to Victoria, it’s a nice recharge usually. I really wish there was more restaurants like Vancouver though, it’s tough being downtown on a Friday night and only having a small handful of restaurants to choose from. There is too many independents running their restaurants like chains – shitty food, worse service, and trendy decor. Great coffee shops though. I visited Discovery Coffee on Friday with my dad on Friday.

The monster at the top is my grandma’s toaster. It has no switches, just a plug that activates the huge red heater core. It’s probably 65 years old but has a unique charm. Sometimes the old things are better than the new.

Listening:
Thievery Corporation – The Richest Man in Babylon

~ by getbackwards on March 24, 2010.

2 Responses to “A much better tomorrow.”

  1. I hear you on the lifestyle choices thing – many cooks are junkies of some form or another, booze being pretty prominent. It’s something I’ve got to watch really closely myself as I’m a bit of an addict! Carbs and protein are what you really need to replace what you spend sweating it out on line, oh and water. ๐Ÿ™‚ Do you have a nice blender where you work? Our pastry chef uses our Vitaprep to make some awesome drinks, full of raw fruit and veg that are easy to ‘eat’, quick and convenient. Everyone feels better after a round of health drink. Salad in a cup! Most cooks I know are big fans of rice, bread and butter, chowder, pasta – that kind of thing.

    There’s no point comparing Vancouver to Victoria, we just don’t have the population base which is why people like coming here. Oh, and way less rain. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Yeah actually we just got our Vitaprep last week. It’s pretty badass. We’ve been talking about making smoothies and stuff like that but haven’t gotten around to it yet.

Leave a Reply

 
