Spring, travel.

Sledge Hockey.

It’s spring finally. The olympic hangover is of epic proportions. There’s been lots of talk about how slow everyone was, and plus all the 20/20 hindsight of how it should have been busier. Well, I’m pretty done with the whole thing but seriously we should forget about the Olympics and focus on how we can salvage the rest of the year. Normally January is the time for everyone to regroup and figure their shit out, but March is the new January apparently.

I’ve had travel on the mind for quite some time now. It’s almost the required rite of passage for a young person, and chef especially, to go travel the world and consume other cultures, literally and figuratively. For a young chef, it’s encouraged to go do stages in the country whose cuisine you want to train in. I feel that in a lot of ways, it’s become a little bit cliche to go to France or Italy or whatever.  One other aspect is that it is expensive to travel. Ideally I’d like to get paid if possible…if only so I can stay there a little bit longer. As a canadian, you are basically limited to Commonwealth countries, and Japan. I want to go to the USA and stage in restaurants there, but it’s really expensive to live there. It’s too bad, because there are so many restaurants there that are very forward-thinking and inspiring to me.

My uncle lived in Japan for 15 – ish years and says cooks get paid pretty well there. I’ve eaten Japanese food since a young age, as my family had many exchange students stay with us. I’m not going to go on and on about how amazing and clean and whatever Japanese cuisine is, because I feel it’s regarded as one of the world’s best cuisines. Technically and aesthetically it is a daunting and powerful cuisine to master.

I’ve been to Japan twice. Once when I was 5, and again when I was 16. The second time was a eye-opener and a pivotal point in my life, and left a deep and meaningful mark on me.

It’s hard figuring out travel. It’s tough enough just living a relatively stable life, much less putting everything on hold so you can leave the country. I have a pretty good setup right now, so it seems hard to leave it. I also have problems with saving money. I guess you just have to buckle down and do it. It’s strange how I can buckle down and just do it when I’m working, but not outside of it.

I’m really trying to evaluate my life and figure out what is important. Sometimes I don’t know if I’m making the right decisions. I’ve lived in Vancouver for 2.5 years and in my less confident moments I think that I am no further ahead than when I started. Maybe I’m also concerned because I feel like I’m running out of time to make the right choices. I’m 25, young I know, but I also see cooks I’ve worked with that are only a few years older than me and bitter. I don’t want to end up like that.

Will 2010 be a defining year for me? I hope so. Some people say you make your own luck. Can I?

Listening:
Thievery Corporation – The Richest Man in Babylon

~ by getbackwards on March 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
