Technology

So, I got an iPhone finally. My roommate had found it a while back and gave it to me. It had been unusable due to some stupid firmware/unlocking issues, but I finally got it to work yesterday. Coincidentally, I lost my venerable Motorola RAZR on Friday night, so it worked out swimmingly for me. Unfortunately, I am now one of those annoying people who uses their iPhone at all possible times. On the bright side, I now have a functional camera that I can have on line at work – full digital cameras are not the best for that.

This is where I spend most of my time… the garde manger station at Pourhouse.

Some petit fours lemon tarts. Somehow they are cracking already. The day team made them so I don’t know what happened. It’s really funny working at a place with a day and night team.

My staff meal. I eat sandwiches all the time now, and I’m already tired of them.

The olympics come in 5 days. I’m simultaneously terrified and excited. I got my first taste on the weekend,. We’ve reduced our menu down by 10 items or so, which is fine but I make so many sandwiches now. It’s really not my thing. My cousin Shelly is coming to visit for 2 weeks starting Wednesday. It’s gonna be pretty awesome, but my liver is already quivering in terror. My roommate Bryce says “Fear is a great motivator”, so take what you will from that.

Keeping in mind the original thought of this post, I’ve been thinking about how there is a a sharp division with a lot of chefs in regards to the use of technology in the kitchen. It seems like playing with fire. Only the best can really use progressive technology to the fullest extent. I’ve seen things like PacoJets and hand held wood smokers in product catalogs delivered to my restaurants…but would it be a novelty item? I’ve heard that you can do amazing things with PacoJets and immersion circulators, but I’ve personally worked with a lot of chefs and owners who intentionally stay away from technology like that because of the style of food they serve. Menu language probably helps here. You could sous vide a chicken, but not write it on the menu, and it may appear that you have a more casual style of food than it actually is. Is that sneaking quality and consistency onto the plates? The resurgence of “comfort food” or whatever you want to call it has forced restaurants to serve food that is casual and rustic in order to stay in business. Does this limit their options for menu items? I think it does. A lot of good ideas thrown about are thrown away in fear of appearing too “fancy”. Is there a way of using advanced techniques while using rustic presentation?

Listening:

Curtis Mayfield – Curtis

~ by getbackwards on February 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
