Food and music.

Hi. This is my new blog. I know, lol it up, I finally got with the program already blahblah etc.

Anyway. Here’s something I think about a lot – The relationship, and similarities between food and music. I mostly think about this when I listen to jazz, as I feel that it’s similar to cooking. Jazz is one of my favorite genres. I mostly like jazz fusion like Weather Report, Chick Corea & Return to Forever, Herbie Hancock, etc, but I also like the cool bop period in the early 50’s. I find jazz very intersting because it’s one genre where the musicians are frequently encouraged to improvise. At the same time, they are also highly creative, strictly trained individuals, with a high adherence to tempo and technicality. This is where it’s similarity to cooking comes into play – I find cooks in general to be passionate and creative, but are highly skilled (and the best usually have a background in kitchens that demand technical performance).

I guess the argument could be made that cooking and kitchens could be compared to various groups or teams (sports, organizations) that require commitment, an unwavering will and strong back bone. But I think I like the idea of music because  it’s something we all can relate to. And the feeling you get when you (or I) get when I listen to Miles Davis pour his SOUL into a record is just like the feeling I get when I’ve put every last bit of myself into my food. So maybe it’s a simple idea (and surely it’s been thought and talked about for years), but I still like the sound of it…

Listening:
Weather Report – Heavy Weather
Miles Davis – Bitches Brew
Chick Corea & Return to Forever – Light As a Feather

~ by getbackwards on February 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
