Change.

Since January 2009, I’ve had 4 different jobs. This is fine, but every time I get a new job I’m faced with the same problem – money. Delayed pay periods usually add up to me pushing bills to the backburner until i finally get that awaited paycheck. Most of my life I’ve skimmed by on the seat of my pants, juggling debts and paychecks like a circus clown. I mean, it doesn’t help that my money management skills are not great to begin with, and then add on the reality of a cook’s life – low pay. I had the high point of my life last summer when I made more than I have ever made, and it still wasn’t even that much. Then, I took a $5/hr pay cut to go to back to Gastown, and I’m more broke than I’ve been in months.

I shouldn’t complain. It’s a well known fact that cooks do not receive compensation in line with other trades. I knew this when I started. And even as I write this, I know I run this risk of sounding whiny. I’ve read lots of things on other blogs and cooking books about how we don’t do it for the money, we do it because we love what we do. I’ve never complained to any of my chefs. Is this one of the trials that a young cook must endure in order to become great?

So my phone got cut off again. Big deal.  I’ll get through it. It’s still hard to convince myself that I’m doing the right thing sometimes.

Alright, whine session over…back to work.

Listening:
Dan The Automator – A Much Better Tomorrow

~ by getbackwards on February 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
